IF YOU HADN’T THE HEART TO GIVE…


St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Image by ginnerobot via Flickr

 

 

 

 

http://files.fbstatic.com/PostImages/1182114/0/db2379cd-a488-4a6d-818b-47c97a48d958.jpg” alt=”” />

 

If You Hadn’t the Heart to Give…

 

Just a few years ago I was born

Already I fight to live

Research would not be possible if you hadn’t the heart to give

 

They would not have the medicine to battle the cancer that rages

Or money to train doctors to decipher its different stages

 

If you hadn’t the heart to give

 I would not have a breath

Six months ago, I would have conceded to the hands of death

 

My little heart is full of thanks

And I am sure my parents too

For they might not have had the chance to watch me grow

If it hadn’t been for you

 

Stephanie Ann Kinzel

(written for a boy who saved my life)

One thought on “IF YOU HADN’T THE HEART TO GIVE…

  1. PMartin says:

    This is really touching and it hit me in the solar plexus. Your poem speaks for itself so powerfully and plainly

Leave a Reply

